JavaScript notes

author: Paul Kim

categories: js

tags: js

JavaScript notes

What is ECMA?

ECMA stands for the European Computer Manufacturer's Association and is the standards organization that standardizes JavaScript.

What is ECMAScript?

ECMAScript is the scripting-language standardized by ECMA in the ECMA-262 specification and ISO/IEC 16262.

What is JavaScript?

Javascript = ECMAScript + DOM + BOM

What is the difference between ECMAScript vs JavaScript?

ECMAScript is a standard, JavaScript is an implementation


There are 10 editions of ECMA-262 published.

Edition Date published Name Changes from prior edition
1 June 1997 First edition
2 June 1998 Editorial changes to keep the specification fully aligned with ISO/IEC 16262 international standard
3 December 1999 Added regular expressions, better string handling, new control statements, try/catch exception handling, tighter definition of errors, formatting for numeric output and other enhancements
4 Abandoned Fourth Edition was abandoned, due to political differences concerning language complexity.
5 December 2009 Adds "strict mode," a subset intended to provide more thorough error checking and avoid error-prone constructs. Clarifies many ambiguities in the 3rd edition specification, and accommodates behaviour of real-world implementations that differed consistently from that specification. Adds some new features, such as getters and setters, library support for JSON, and more complete reflection on object properties.
5.1 June 2011 This edition 5.1 of the ECMAScript standard is fully aligned with third edition of the international standard ISO/IEC 16262:2011.
6 June 2015 ECMAScript 2015 (ES2015) See 6th Edition - ECMAScript 2015
7 June 2016 ECMAScript 2016 (ES2016) See 7th Edition - ECMAScript 2016
8 June 2017 ECMAScript 2017 (ES2017) See 8th Edition - ECMAScript 2017
9 June 2018 ECMAScript 2018 (ES2018) See 9th Edition - ECMAScript 2018
10 June 2019 ECMAScript 2019 (ES2019) See 10th Edition - ECMAScript 2019


© 2021 All rights reserved.